“I’m from Wellington but I’ve been living here since 2016. I met by boyfriend online, we chatted for about five months then starting seeing each other. I’d never been to the South Island in my life and I thought wow, this is amazing. 

When I was in Wellington I was very different. My dad was very homophobic growing up; he treated me differently from my siblings. But then I always had my mum for support and she was great. I did wear make-up but I didn’t wear as much because I thought hmmm it’s just not safe to be myself here. He was a big reason for that. 

When I moved down to Christchurch I thought right; this is a new beginning, a new start and I’m going to be living my life the way that I want to. No one knows me and I don’t know anyone here, it’s fresh. It was the best decision I ever made, moving down to Christchurch. I love it here. 

I love everything extra, scarves and accessories. I love voluminous hair; I really like the 50s and 60s, that style. Like, this is probably not even relevant, but I love the weather. Because Wellington was sooo windy, I would do my hair then 10 seconds later it’s destroyed. Here, it’s perfect. 

All the time I’m changing, changing. I feel like I’m just very comfortable wearing what I want. Some things may seem quite feminine, and different, and unusual, but I really like that. People do look; I don’t really care; they’re just very curious. If I was young and innocent and had never seen a man in make-up before, I’d be looking as well you know? That doesn’t bother me at all.

I can be who I want to be and I’m not afraid to be. I’m in a great place.”


Charity registration number: CC57701